Back to programme


Edited by Paula Morris, Michelle Elvy and James Norcliffe, with art editor David Eggleton

PRE-REGISTRATION CLOSED: as this is a free event ticket holders must arrive 15 minutes before start of event to guarantee a seat. There may be spaces available after this.

Ko Aotearoa Tātou | We Are New Zealand is bursting with new works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and visual art created in response to the editors’ questions:

What is New Zealand now, in all its rich variety and contradiction, darkness and light? Who are New Zealanders?

The starting point for the anthology was the statement by Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern after the March Christchurch attacks: ‘Because we represent diversity, kindness, compassion, a home for those who share our values, refuge for those who need it…we will not, and cannot, be shaken by this attack.’

To celebrate the launch of this important book, published by Otago University Press, we welcome contributors reading from their work alongside special guests from 5pm to 6pm, followed by a reception from 6pm to 7pm.

Featuring Dr Hanif Quazi, Selina Tusitala Marsh, Ghazaleh Golbakhsh, essa may ranapiri, Donna Miles-Mojab, Mohamed Hassan, Tusiata Avia, David Gregory, E Wen Wong and more.

More information on the book here.

COVID-19 update. Ticket allocation is for the current Alert Level. If there is a change back to Level 2 at the time of the festival, tickets booked under the original Level 2 requirements will be given preference. 

Social Feed

Subscribe to receive the latest updates

View the programme