Paula Morris

Paula Morris MNZM (Ngāti Wai, Ngāti Manuhiri, Ngāti Whatua) is the author of the collections Forbidden Cities (2008) and False River (2017); the essay On Coming Home (2015); and seven novels, including Rangatira (2011), winner of best work of fiction at both the 2012 New Zealand Post Book Awards and Ngā Kupu Ora Māori Book Awards, and four YA supernatural mysteries. She teaches creative writing at the University of Auckland and is the founder of the Academy of New Zealand Literature ( Her collaboration with photographer Haru Sameshima, Shining Land, explores the life of writer Robin Hyde (forthcoming from Massey University Press in November). Paula is a co-editor of the new anthology Ko Aotearoa Tātou (Otago University Press), which is a creative snapshot of New Zealand after the 2019 Christchurch mosque attacks.

Twitter: @pjkmorris

Social Feed

Subscribe to receive the latest updates

View the programme